As an atheist, would you bet your life on your belief that God doesn’t exist? by Ron Davis

As an atheist, would you bet your life on your belief that God doesn’t exist? by Ron Davis

This question requires some interpretation.

I here suppose that it really means betting my life, rather than betting a supposed afterlife. Also, from its use of “God” as a proper noun, I suppose that it refers to the Christian god.

There is also the problem of choosing belief. Belief follows from evidence and logic. One may assign probabilities to different propositions, when evidence and logic are not conclusive, but rational belief nonetheless follows from rational consideration, not arbitrary choice. So I here suppose that we are considering belief based on the fallacy of reasoning from consequences, rather than rational thought.

Consequences of Believing in God:

  1. I spend much of my time in rituals.
  2. I spend even more of my time earning money to appease the organizers of some of those rituals.
  3. I spend much of my time and some money learning details of Christianity.
  4. I am infected with varying degrees of hatred or contempt for anyone who follows one of 4,199 other religions (thus far documented) or no religion.
  5. I am infected with varying degrees of hatred or contempt for anyone who follows one of the many other varieties of my own religion.

Consequences of Atheism:

  1. My thoughts and beliefs are rational.

Betting on Christianity is no bet at all; it involves not just a possibility, but the dead certainty of sacrificing much of one’s life.

(Incidentally, if the question in fact intends to refer to betting one’s afterlife, atheism

Leave a Reply

